Sensitive content is hidden by default in the Tumblr app* for iOS.
*Version 22.5.1 and higher. Beginning in version 22.5.2, you may opt out via the toggle in your account settings.
If you're over 18, you can disable the "Hide Sensitive Content" toggle in your account settings:
Remember to restart your app after making a change to this setting. If you're not sure how to quit and restart an app, check out this guide from Apple.
When sensitive content is hidden, you'll see overlays when attempting to view content that could be considered sensitive.
You can encounter overlays in a few spots:
- When viewing a blog that's been flagged as explicit.
- When viewing search or tag results for certain words or phrases*.
You may also notice:
- Images received via direct messaging from blogs you don't follow cannot be viewed in the app.
- Likes and reblogs from explicit flagged blogs are hidden from the notes.
- Images from reblogs shown in posts' notes are blurred unless you follow the Tumblr that added the image.
- Your dashboard (the "Following" tab and the "Stuff for you" tab), search results, and tag results no longer show content that contains certain words or phrases.
- Certain words and phrases have been removed from the typeahead feature in search (sometimes referred to as search suggestions).
- We've excluded blogs that may contain or create sensitive content from search and tag results.
*The list of words and phrases that are filtered out is not public at this time.
What Does "Sensitive" Mean?
The sensitive designation refers to content that doesn't violate our guidelines, but that may not be appropriate for everyone.